Menu

Main Content

Our 5 Star Zillow Reviews
February 24, 2021 in Latest News

We are ever grateful for our partnerships with our clients over the past three decades and the opportunity to serve with integrity creating multi-generational connections. We deeply appreciate the trust and loyalty shared over the years. Our relationship with our clients is always our top priority and you can count on that. Read what our clients say about us:

12/22/2020 – Schuyler Dietz
Bought a Single Family home in 2020 in Rancho Mirage, CA.

Markus and Cristie were referred to us by an agent we previously bought a home with for their expertise in the Coachella Valley. We were first time homebuyers in the Valley and found the wide selection and different vibes of each community difficult to navigate from an outsider’s perspective. When presented with a blank slate of, “we don’t know what we are looking for, but we will know when we see it,” Markus and Cristie took the time to learn what we liked, and pointed us to our ultimate purchase. Markus and Cristie’s extensive knowledge and enthusiastic representation made finding our new home, after a little searching, an incredibly enjoyable process. We would highly recommend them to anyone looking for agents to find their perfect home.

09/17/2020 – alohaahola
Bought a Condo home in 2020 in Los Angeles, CA.

I recently purchased my new condo with the help of Markus and his team and they have made the entire process an enjoyable experience. Markus provided excellent guidance and expertise during the negotiation process and was very diligent to make sure the closing process went as smoothly as possible. I was thoroughly impressed by his knowledge of the local market as well as his superb professionalism with a personal touch. I would definitely work with him again in my future real estate transactions and highly recommend him for anyone looking to buy or sell property in the Los Angeles area.

09/07/2020 – halev
Bought and sold a Multi Family home in 2020 in West Hollywood, CA.

Couldn’t be more pleased with my experience with Markus and Cristie. Would feel comfortable recommending them to anyone looking to buy or sell. Both of them were extremely pleasant to work with, and incredibly professional. Looking forward to working with them again in the future.

08/02/2020 – romangupta
Bought a Single Family home in 2020 in Arcadia, CA.

It might be impossible to encapsulate just how amazing Markus, Lisa, and the rest of the St. James + Canter team is. Markus was referred by a friend who absolutely loved working with him, and he represented us as buyers. Markus is deeply knowledgeable in all aspects of the real estate process from dealing with lenders and the loan process to design and architecture, but most importantly supporting a person in really defining what will make them completely happy. Markus really took the time to get to know my wife and I in order to help him to be able to identify the perfect house for us. Some other real estate agents might leave the search up to the buyers; but Markus stayed in touch and demonstrated that he was always keeping us in mind as he reviewed the MLS. As first time home buyers, We found the perfect house, and even with multiple offers on it, Markus was powerful in successfully negotiating for us throughout and made sure he was still getting the best deal for us from the start. Once in escrow, Markus really took time to walk us through every detail of the house and even went so far as to bring in independent contractors himself to help us let go of any anxiety we had about various aspects of the house. Markus stayed on top of the loan team even when we were struggling and really acted as an advocate for us throughout the process. Even after purchase, Markus worked diligently to help us take care of post-closing work. Markus understood our parameters talked us through every change or decision and really took the time to make sure we were completely happy. At the end of the entire process I realized just how Markus just knew this was the right home for us, and it’s hard to believe it’s ours, we love it. Lisa and the admin team were professional, prompt, and helpful throughout. The entire St. James + Canter team answered the phone day or night, responded to emails or texts immediately, and always made us feel like we were their most important clients. Maybe it sounds like hyperbole, but I cannot recommend this team more highly and hope that you let them help make your dreams come true too!

06/09/2020 – user3450328
Sold a home in 2020.

Looking for a new home can be a tedious process, but when it comes to searching for the right realtor the list is short; St. James + Canter is the only place to go for all of your real estate and property needs. Aside from being highly professional and competent, they are above all personal. The brokers and staff will put in the effort to get to know you on a personal level, because their number one priority is the client and making sure that you get the right home or deal for YOU. I have worked with Markus and the rest of the team at St. James + Canter on multiple occassions, and I simply can’t say enough good things about them. So if you are looking for a company that will work for you and get you want you want, look no further.

04/06/2020 – lcwang2
Bought a home in 2020 in Santa Monica, CA 90404.

Markus is the BEST. If you are lucky enough to work with him, prepare to be wowed from beginning to end. He is incredibly knowledgeable about everything real-estate related, from location to architecture to investment value. He was somehow able to balance all my conflicting priorities and find me a dream place in just a few weeks. I especially loved that he has a well-informed opinion (and the right one, I should add) about everything we looked at. He keeps it real, while maintaining the determination and optimism to find the perfect place for his clients. And once we found it, he was such a skilled negotiator that I ended up winning a competitive bidding process while also getting a great deal. That sounds like a paradox, but Markus is a magician who knows how to make both things happen simultaneously. Ultimately, he is not just an exceptional agent, but also a wonderful human being. I so enjoyed working with him and look forward to many future collaborations.

03/11/2020 – kayoy1
Sold a luxury Single Family home in 2020 in Beverly Hills, CA.

They are super knowledgeable, totally know the market and how to make a home perfect for the buyer. They explained every step and answered all the questions we had. Every one of their team is very easy to work with!

02/27/2020 – lecynkar3
Sold a Condo home in 2020 in West Hollywood, CA.

I can’t imagine having worked with any other broker on the sale of our West Hollywood condo. For many months before we listed, Markus gave us excellent advice on preparing for the sale, from a strategic listing price and timing, to design best practices such as which lights to put in, what kinds of curtains and shades would work best, paint color, etc. I’m so glad we took his advice. Our condo was on the market just slightly over a week before we’d had multiple offers and accepted one over our asking price. The closing could not have gone more smoothly. In short, I don’t think any other brokers know the area and the market as well as Markus and Cristie do, or would be as helpful and straightforward to work with. There’s a reason they’re prolific in the area and it’s because they’re the best in the area.

12/10/2019 – zuser20160805211158160
Sold a Condo home in 2019 in West Hollywood, CA.

Cristie St. James represented me in selling my West Hollywood Condo at a time where there is market uncertainty and just before the holidays. Her outreach and positivity brought two buyers, one of whom ended up taking ownership! She communicated the status every step of the way. I always felt confident that I new exactly where we were in the process. She advised me of a reasonable market price, told me we’d be in escrow within two weeks–and we were! It was a pleasure working with Cristie and team. I would highly recommend her representation in future sales or purchases.

11/24/2019 – toddharrisent
Bought a Condo home in 2019 in West Hollywood, CA.

Cristie St. James and Markus Canter recently represented me as the Buyer of a new home. Firstly, I would like to Thank Them for the Incredible Communication from the begining of the transaction, until the close of escrow. They were extremely knowledgeable in all areas of the transaction. Provided me with the comps, market trends and all information relating to the purchase. I am an out of town buyer and the details were very important to me. They represented both the seller and me and handled the delicate details perfectly. They were responsive and always got back to me within minutes. Their office runs perfectly and Lisa Penny their Executive Assistant was on top of everything. I was a also a hesitant buyer and their patience was greatly appreciated. I am sure that, had they not represented me, that, I may not have moved forward. Now I know, that with their guidence I made a great decision and love the place. I highly recommend them. Thank you Cristie and your entire team for all of your efforts and hard work!

11/05/2019 – dkbadd
Bought and sold a Single Family home in 2019 in Los Angeles, CA.

Markus, Cristie, and their amazing team led us through both the sale of our condo and the purchase of our new home with unrelenting hope and vision for a process which my wife and I thought was incredibly daunting for first time single-home buyers. We saw countless homes for a few months which Markus provided detailed opinions on all of them and with his creative eye, he also gave us his thoughts on how the homes could be renovated. Finding a buyer for our condo took only two weeks and it went substantially above asking price and Markus was able to maneuver the very difficult path of purchasing a new home expertly allowing us to understand the ins and outs of the process. To working with our loan providers and both escrow companies, Markus, Cristie and Lisa on their team provided incredible, thorough service to help us find our new, beautiful home.

10/30/2019 – zuser20170918145700632
Sold a Single Family home in 2019 in Los Angeles, CA.

Our challenging home, no parking and tenant in place for 9 more months, was sold to the first person who looked at it due to the St. James Canter wide outreach of contacts. Our home sold at a price beyond our expectation. I can’t recommend St. James Canter highly enough!

10/09/2019 – emmakim114
Sold a Single Family home in 2019 in Sherman Oaks, CA.

If I can give this company 100 stars, I will. They deserve the best compliments out there. They are very professional, attentive and intellectual people. All communications were very clear and everyone in their team knows what’s going on, so whoever I ask knows exactly where we are at in the process. You guys are amazing! I definitely recommend you guys to everyone!

08/26/2019 – zuser20170910160042817
Bought a Single Family home in 2019 in Los Angeles, CA.

Cristie St. James was available to us 24 x 7 as we worked to close a deal on our first house. She spent hours with us at inspections and helped insure a 10 day inspection and loan contingencies being lifted. I think the ease with which these happen are due to the relationships she has established with vendors and also mortgage companies. The sellers were initially unreasonable with their response to our credit amount due to the extent of the work that needed to be done but she was supportive in us considering what our bottom-line was, even if that meant the deal falling through. We reached middle ground. We are thankful to be in our dream home as it is not easy buying a house!

08/14/2019 – ekupps
Sold a Condo home in 2019 in Brentwood, CA.

My wife and I worked with Markus on the sale of our home. He got the sale done quickly and efficiently, and way over our asking price. He was responsive, dedicated, and one heck of an agent. He is a master at pricing strategy, marketing, and negotiation. It was by far the smoothest transaction we have ever been a part of and both the buyer and us were extremely satisfied. We have already recommended him to all of our friends and neighbors and would definitely use him again for our own real estate needs.

08/01/2019 – mark35751
Sold a Condo home in 2019 in Los Angeles, CA.

Just experienced a very smooth and easy transaction with Cristie. She listed and sold our home quickly with multiple offers. Her follow up during the due diligence period was excellent. She is the consummate professional Realtor. I would highly recommend her and her team for any real estate transaction. Thank you Cristie!

06/26/2019 – frankbucksj
Sold a luxury Single Family home in 2019 in Hollywood, CA.

Markus Canter sold my condo in Hollywood and helped me find a home in the Hollywood Hills. I cannot recommend Markus Canter highly enough. I had a very difficult condo to sell and many had not sold in the building. He helped me stage the condo, took amazing pictures and used the most current technology to market it online and got it sold. When it came time to purchase a home, Markus’ indefatigable work helped us to find a home beyond our dreams. Markus’ professionalism, expertise, and friendly and kind demeanor made the stress of selling and finding a home not only doable but pleasurable. As a realtor, I found Markus extraordinary and always had my best interest at heart. I could not have been happier with my whole experience of working with Markus over the last year!

06/14/2019 – SamanthaCoker
Bought a Townhouse home in 2019 in Pacific Palisades, CA.

I have worked with many people in Real Estate. Never, however have I worked with someone with the level of integrity, sophistication and understanding of St James Canter. Markus Canter, who has now seen me through 5 transactions, understands that a home is not just a place you live. It is the place you love, the place you grieve, where you raise your children and build your memories. Markus and his team work to know each client so that they can match them with the perfect place. So much so, that he was able to find me a home that I purchased without even seeing. And it was indeed the perfect spot for me. He has the ability to deeply see what each client needs, even in very subtle ways, and will discourage a sale, that might make him lots of money, if he feels it is not the best match. That is true integrity. I LOVE working with Markus and his team, I cannot imagine finding a home without them!

05/13/2019 – jeremyr3
Sold a Single Family home in 2019 in Los Angeles, CA.

The experience with St James Canter was wonderful , relaxed and easy. He correctly targeted the potential clients which moved everything forward very quickly . His people skills and his presentational style were amazing to watch and because of that communication with all the people involved .both buyers and sellers was clear and direct . His support staff were charming and knowledgeable I highly recommend St James Canter with out hesitation at all .

05/08/2019 – devico1111
Sold a Single Family home in 2019 in Hollywood Hills, CA.

Firstly and most importantly I can only offer the very very highest recommendation for Markus Canter. He is a consummate professional, experienced, deeply knowledgeable and a man of profound personal honor with a kind of second sight to closing a deal so both parties leave content. The sale of our home was a complex one as it held great sentimental value and I was on the other side of the planet. Being a 1950’s construction there were also challenges with permits, property lines and tenants all of which Marcus handled with elegance and expertise. He helped me on the most personal level as we, as a family, struggled to let our home go and he found the perfect buyer who shared our care and concern for the property. The entire sale process was harmonious and Marcus most definitely defended my needs and gave the most sage advice and council when I needed that. The level of support I received from the Salina Rodriguez at Pickford Escrow company was 100%++ and Salina was truly patient with me always taking time to carefully explain things. Documentation was flawless. Marcus’ whole team are knowledgeable and experienced and most miraculously Marcus, handling the entire process and closing a complex purchase with both buyer and seller out of the country, without one hitch, nor me having to fly back to deal with any problem (and there were a few)… there were none that Marcus was not two steps in front of and which he handled and resolved masterfully . In the process we forged a precious friendship- There is a reason why Marcus is at the very top of his game and it is his astounding humanity. If you are lucky enough to have Marcus and his team represent you, you could not be in better hands. Five very golden stars across the board.

11/21/2018 – miles707
Sold a luxury Single Family home in 2018 in Los Angeles, CA.

We are property developers in Los Angeles and hired Markus Canter and Cristie St. James (St James + Canter), who are the Luxury Properties Directors at Berkshire Hathaway, to sell our fully redeveloped 5000 sq ft new classic style house on Nichols Canyon Road in Los Angeles. We interviewed a number of the best rated real estate agents in Hollywood at the time and chose St James + Canter because of their solid track record selling luxury houses; their clear focus on the value of exceptional marketing in a highly competitive market; their high level of professionalism; and just simply because we felt that they were honest, down to earth and real as well as completely easy to deal with. We really felt that they had our best interest at heart. We were completely happy with the services St James + Canter provided to us. They grasped the unique design of our house quickly and used it effectively to successfully leverage the marketing and ultimate sale of the house. Standout areas of their services included: 1) pricing the house strategically to ensure it received proper market attention (and not pricing it just to move it quickly); 2) hands-on approach to open houses always ensuring that at least one of Markus or Cristie attended every open house; 3) outstanding marketing efforts including having the house named in the news as “Hot Property” of the week in the Los Angeles Times, Markus being interviewed at the property for a feature spot which aired on prime TV on FOX LA, and Markus being on an episode of Million Dollar listing (part of which was shot at the house) which all helped to give extraordinary exposure to the house; and 4) excellent deal making skills. When our ultimate buyer walked through the house the first time Markus told us that “this is your buyer” and that he had good intuition when it comes to such things. Well he was right and he worked on that buyer and the buyers agent with continuous follow up and focus over a number of weeks until a deal was agreed at a price that set a new high for comparable properties in the area. In fact a number of comparable properties in our area that had been listed for as long or much longer than our property were still on the market well after we closed our transaction. In short we were extremely pleased with the services of St James + Canter, would definitely use them again and would have no hesitation recommending them as real estate agents.

11/21/2018 – joshleonardopex
Sold an architecturally significant Single Family home in 2018 in Los Angeles, CA.

How can I adequately describe my experience with Markus and his team? He is, without a doubt, the most professional, knowledgeable, responsive, smart and also kind individual who you could ever have in your corner. I had an architectually significant home in the Hollywood Hills that I was reluctant to sell because I thought I would never find a buyer who appreciated it the way I did. Then, Markus worked his magic. I wound up with multiple offers, and accepted one that was significantly above asking price, all within a few weeks of listing, and all long-distance. His pictures of my house were spectacular and his marketing instincts were genius. He is truly a special individual and his team made it happen seamlessly.

05/20/2018 – 2008vgc
Sold a Single Family home in 2018 in Los Angeles, CA.

Cristie, Markus & their staff were very professional in handling my property sale process. Cristie & Markus worked so hard from staging, listing, marketing & selling process of my special house in Hollywood Hills. They were both very proactive in following through the entire process until the post sale making sure that everything is wrapped up properly. They are very knowledgeable in the Hollywood area and on what they do. Highly recommended.

05/04/2018 – keyton1051
Sold a Condo home in 2018 in West Hollywood, CA.

We found working with the St. James Canter team an exceptionally gratifying experience. Cristie went above and beyond our expectations to bring this transaction to a successful close. She and her team are very professional and knowledgeable. We would definitely recommend these professionals and would work with them again in the future.

04/24/2018 – user3450328
Bought a Condo home in 2018 in Los Angeles, CA.

I have worked together with St. James Canter for the past 4 years, and you would have a hard time finding someone who is more professional and dedicated to finding you the property that is right for you. With extensive knowledge and experience, you can feel safe in trusting them with everything related to your real estate business. I would never work with anyone else, and I can highly recommend their services to anyone looking to buy or sell real estate.

03/28/2018 – ohadkor
Bought a Condo home in 2018 in West Hollywood, CA.

Cristie St James is a true professional, highly efficient and responsive and her many years of experience in the field certainly shows, she’s knows how to close a deal and is highly connected and respected in her field which helps facilitate deals even further, this was my first investment with Cristie and certainly won’t be the last.

12/13/2017 – hshepard53
Bought and sold a Single Family home in 2017 in Sherman Oaks, CA.

This is the fourth home I’ve purchased from Cristie St. James over 20 years. Every transaction was first rate, professional and, most importantly, calming. She is a pro from the word go … and I highly recommend her and her team. They are the best!

12/02/2017 – mike juratovac
Bought and sold a home in 2017.

This is our second transaction with Cristi and the St. James Canter team. Our first experience was a purchase several years ago where Cristi was the listing agent for an entire building. This is noteworthy given the volume of activity involved with listing/selling 21 units at the same time. Cristi may well have been representing us given the high level of attention before and after the sale. I know everyone in the building was extremely pleased with the process. Our second transaction was our recent move back to Los Angeles. We started a remote house hunting mission with Cristi which could be stressful, but Cristi was extremely dialed into the type of property for which we looking and acted as an incredible resource in helping us keep very close tabs on aligned property as they were COMING to the market. West Hollywood moves quickly today and we never missed an opportunity to see a property of interest. Cristi would view places while we were traveling and ultimately pulled a deal together for us on a home that is perfect. Brenna was a true value add along the way viewing properties and guiding us through the close. The St. James Canter team knows the market extremely well- the guidance in both transactions has been highly professional and insightful with a high touch, honest service that makes you feel like you’re dealing with a close friend who has nothing but your personal interest in mind. Thank you Cristi and Brenna for everything. Mike & Tony

11/18/2017 – Lauren Johnson
Sold a home in 2017 West Hollywood, CA

The best! Cristie is SO on top of everything. She is extremely quick to respond and get things accomplished. She was very proactive about keeping me in the loop and making everything easy for us. She knows the real estate inside and out and is confident in her recommendations. She went above and beyond to get our property sold for top dollar. Highly recommend!

11/07/2017 – zuser20140521134843366
Sold a Single Family home in 2017 in West Hollywood, CA.

My escrow just closed November 2nd and I thank God, daily, that I had Cristie St. James representing me. She is the gold standard of real estate agents with great integrity, honesty, compassion and grace. I have made excellent profits from both the sale of my condo and house and it is truly due to her vigilance and expertise. You cannot get any better people than work at this agency, believe me! — Judy Hilsinger

08/18/2017 – zuser20170711002204461
Sold a Condo home in 2017 in Pacific Palisades, CA.

Cristie is the consummate real estate agent. She was engaged in every aspect of our condo sale. She was involved constantly with the escrow people, the seller’s agent, the title insurance company and all the inspectors and made sure that our tenant was not disturbed in anyway. Every time we called her she answered the phone and try to solve the problems and put our concerns at rest. My husband and I feel very fortunate to have had Cristie as our agent. She is dedicated to her profession and mostly to her clients.

08/05/2017 – user2164409
Sold a luxury Single Family home in 2017 in Los Angeles, CA.

Cristie and her team handled the sale of my Mom’s property in Bel Air. We choose her because she had given us a market value estimate five years previously. We asked her to keep in touch and she professionally and courteously did so – without any sales pressure at all – kept in touch. She is very responsive and knowledgeable about local values, price setting, negotiations and the complexities of California disclosures and closings. She know when and how to suggest that your might be losing the forest because you want to trim a tree or two. That is quite a skill.

03/11/2017 – stevebrill58
Bought and sold a Condo home in 2017 in Los Angeles, CA.

Cristie is hands down my favorite realtor. She is so dependable and trustworthy. I have dealt with her for years through buying, selling, and renting. For the last transaction, she sold my condo quickly for over asking price and helped me through the entire process. With every transaction, she treated me like I had a multi-million dollar property, which I definitely did not. I am so grateful and cannot recommend her highly enough.

08/30/2016 – zuser20140610130736621
Sold a Single Family home in 2016 in Los Angeles, CA.

i’ve known markus and cristie for years and they not only bring decades of expertise to their acute understanding of the real estate market, but they also possess the “people” skills to bridge any gaps between the buyer and the seller. they stay on top of every aspect of the process and are able to facilitate a successful resolution to every situation that arises. i would wholeheartedly recommend them to anyone looking for quality representation!

08/02/2016 – gregory465
Sold a luxury Single Family home in 2016 in Beverly Hills, CA.

Markus and his team for made this as smooth as possible despite all the unforeseen variables. We really appreciate his knowledge and skills, and more importantly, we’re grateful for his tenacity, perseverance and honesty. Without Markus and Adara’s understanding of both the macro and the micro of this process, as well as your patience and attention to our needs, wants and expectations, none of this would not have succeeded. We’re very grateful to all of you for your diligence, professionalism and friendship and hopefully we’ll be able to work together again on an exciting new property in the near future.

06/15/2016 – pd101
Bought a Single Family home in 2016 in Los Angeles, CA.

Markus is a true professional with great market knowledge and insight. He is a great communicator. The majority of our transaction was handled via long distance, and Markus kept us informed every step of the way. First and foremost, he listened to understand our objectives. He then helped us find the right property that suited our needs. Markus exceeded our expectations, and I highly recommend him to anyone buying or selling a home in Southern California.

06/08/2016 – laurieduncan10
Bought a luxury Single Family home in 2016 in Los Angeles, CA.

We could not be happier with the job performance of Markus Canter. He is extremely knowledgeable about the market and design. We have purchased two properties through him and both times everything went very smoothly. We were in bidding wars both times and each time he knew exactly how to handle the situation so we ended up with the property at a fair price. It is also amazing that he understood from a few phone conversations exactly what we wanted. The first property we purchased after seeing pictures and when we saw it in person we absolutely loved it and couldn’t be happier. We purchased a place for our daughters and it was the first property he showed them.

05/25/2016 – morganrai
Bought an architectural Condo home in 2016 in West Hollywood, CA.

We came to the open house without an agent so Markus handled both the buyer and seller sides of the transaction. Throughout the process we felt he was representing us. He was kind, professional and knowledgeable. He knows the local market very well. He and his team were very prompt in responding to all questions and resolved all issues quickly. Markus even took time out on a Saturday to show the property to my wife’s mother who was in town for the weekend. Thanks to Markus and his team, we closed escrow smoothly and ahead of schedule. I could not recommend him more highly.

01/19/2016 – dan kim
Bought a Condo home in 2016 in West Hollywood, CA.

I was a first time buyer and Markus was the third real estate agent I had ever worked with and by far the best of anyone I worked with and could have asked for. He was very knowledgeable, great at explaining every step of the process and its intricacies, and expert at dealing with the seller at every point and ultimately made a deal happen which I think could have sputtered at numerous times. He was honest, straight up and always comforting in the breadth of knowledge he had about everything from the properties I considered to ultimately bidding on a place and closing a very difficult deal. I always had doubts with the other couple real estate agents I worked with in the past in terms of their experience and familiarity/awareness of the marketplace. They just seemed 2nd rate compared to him to be honest. Markus also had great recommendations of how to renovate the place, mortgage lenders and a great staff to help with insurance questions and other needs. He was always available around the clock to discuss anything I may need and went above and beyond what I expected. Also, just a really good, cool guy and someone who was looking out for my best interests not only in this sale but also down the road. Would recommend this guy any day.

10/12/2015 – Ross Michaels
Sold a Single Family home in 2015 in Hollywood Hills, CA.

I have never been one to give 5 out of 5 stars, but I truly feel Markus and his team are one of the best out there. Markus and his team really understood what I was looking for when it came to selling my first home, and they certainly exceeded my expectations. As far as I was concerned everything went very smoothly and we were able to get over asking. I am sure each time someone is selling their home, whether they’ve owned for 5, 10, 20 or more years it is a varying experience and Markus and his team walked me through each step professionally and confidently as it was easy to trust in their expertise. After seeing the many house selling TV Shows out there, not that I was expecting problems, but their assistance and explanations [so that I understood each step along the way] made the whole selling process easy for me. Thank you.

07/14/2015 – raskinal
Sold a luxury Condo home in 2015 in West Hollywood, CA.

Markus and his team achieved a great result selling our condo for the asking price in 30 days. It was a pleasure working with Markus from start to finish. His approach is unique – he acts as a sophisticated advisor (vs simply being a “transactional broker”), who has client’s best interests at heart and truly cares about what he does and does it well. I’ve dealt with a number of brokers but never felt that someone was really watching out for me or constantly thinking what else they could do to get a better outcome for their client – Markus did, starting with our initial meeting, marketing process, closing and post-closing matters. Just a few examples to highlight our experience and his approach: • At our initial meeting, he was well prepared and proposed a thoughtful marketing strategy (our condo due to its large size and location had no comps in the market) – position the condo, given its size, as a house alternative because he believed that would be the buyer for the property. He then worked with the staging company and photographer to convert our outsized kitchen into a family room, added other staging elements that would tailor to such a buyer, and prepared appropriate marketing materials. He also didn’t waver or hedge on the price discussion (as opposed to other brokers we interviewed, all of whom, in fact, came out lower on price than Markus) – was very thoughtful and convincing on where to price the condo, and in the end delivered exactly what he promised on price and timing. What also separated him from other brokers was his approach – it was always more than just a sale to him, and it was a team effort from the get-go. • During the marketing process, I found him to be very resourceful and sophisticated using email blasts to brokers, targeted mailings, personal database of buyers, social media and web-sites, in addition to the usual print ads and MLS. He gave us regular updates on process, never “panicked” or pushed us, and instead listened to our concerns / thoughts and responded very thoughtfully and promptly. He created good dynamic among the prospective buyers that helped us get the price we wanted. He always made us feel that he was going to find that right buyer, which he did. • Escrow – he took care of all scheduling and inspections, had a great escrow team, who worked seamlessly and tirelessly to push this over the finish line requiring virtually no involvement on our part. He also kept “warm” the other interested parties to keep the right momentum. • Closing – Markus helped us deal with certain post-closing matters, at the time when other brokers would try to disengage – to me that was a real proof that it wasn’t just another transaction for him, and, as promised, he really took it personally and never left his clients “hanging”.

06/16/2015 – Ivan_DeWolf
Sold an architectural home in 2014 in Los Angeles, CA.

I was probably the smallest sale that Markus made in the last 12 months, but you would never know it. He put an enormous amount of effort in, every piece of advice was to make a better sale even if it wasn’t the most convenient for him. The results speak for themselves, our asking was about 650 and we got about 100k over asking. His advice was always dead accurate, excess expenditures were avoided. I could not recommend him highly enough, he’s the best in the business.

02/03/2015 – marquis_shortys
Bought a Single Family home in 2015 in West Hollywood, CA.

Markus Canter is one of the nicest, most honest human beings I know. He takes the well being of his clients seriously, and will make sure that you end up in a house that is not only right for your price range, but right for your personality. He has extensive knowledge of Los Angeles and all of its neighborhoods, and can easily customize your search for your dream home to fit your personal needs. He will work with you, and for you, to make sure that you are 100% satisfied. Markus is the kind of guy I that I will proudly recommend to everyone looking to buy or sell a property. Look no further than this fine gentleman!

11/10/2014 – marksjasper
Sold a Condo home in 2014 in Los Angeles, CA.

Markus came recommended by a neighbor in the same building whose property he was in the process of selling. We were considering another agent, but after speaking with Markus, we knew that he was the perfect fit for us and our property. His initial presentation was incredibly thorough and professional, and he really demonstrated his knowledge of the market and where he felt we should list our property. Markus was very easy to work with, always made us feel confident in his strategy, and exceeded our expectations in terms of selling price, getting us well over asking (setting a record for our property type in the neighborhood, along with our neighbor). I have no reservations highly recommending Markus, and look forward to working with him again when we purchase our next property.

07/25/2014 – r.brauer
Bought a luxury home in 2014 in Beverly Hills, CA 90210.

I met Markus when he was hosting an open house. From the very beginning, he was a pleasure to work with. He is very good at what he does in all aspects of the business. He was always incredibly responsive throughout the entire process and kept the ball rolling. He is a skilled and thoughtful negotiator who tries and succeeds in creating “win-win” solutions to issues that invariably arise between a buyer and seller. I can highly recommend Marcus and his team.

07/12/2014 – dananaylor
Sold a home in 2014 in Beverly Hills, CA.

Markus did an outstanding job with helping a Senior parent to relocate and sell her condo. He and his staff are of the highest professional caliber, offering exceptional service, support and expertise in the area of sales and relocation, and together, they are an outstanding team!

07/07/2014 – stacytemple
Sold a home in 2014 in Beverly Hills, CA

Markus did an outstanding job with the sale of my mother’s condo! He was very knowledgable about the area, handled the buyers with great experience, got the unit sold quickly and most importantly, worked beautifully with my elderly mother. I would highly recommend Markus for your real estate needs!!

07/07/2014 – mark
Sold a Multi Family home in 2014 in Beverly Hills, CA.

Markus is a real pro! Very helpful, knowledgeable, and caring. While he was guiding us through the process and preparing to sell the condo, he sold it – before it ever officially hit the market. We closed 25 days later! Markus knows how to get a deal done – I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending him.

06/28/2014 – Elizabeth Reego
Bought a luxury home in 2014 in Pacific Palisades

My husband and I were fortunate enough to find Markus to help us with a beach home purchase. We don’t live in the area and needed extra help with advance viewing properties and also timing visits with our crazy schedule. In the end, we found the perfect home and then he continued to help us with finding an inspector and contractors. During this entire process, Markus made us feel as if we were his only clients; his response time is unparalleled. He is truly one of the finest professionals, in any field, we have ever met and we endorse him without reservation.

02/28/2014 – scottpitters
Bought a Apartment home in 2014 in West Hollywood, CA.

A friend of mine recommended Markus when my wife and I were looking to buy a condo in WeHo. From the moment we met with him, we knew that he would be our agent. His knowledge of the market, ability to weed through the listings to find the right properties and skills in negotiating and finalizing the deal were spot on. The best part about Markus is he is just a great guy.

10/13/2013 – adam altman
Sold a Luxury Condo home in 2013 in Beverly Hills, CA.

It’s hard to even begin to describe how satisfied I am with Markus Canter (and his team). He recently sold my luxury condo in Beverly Hills for a building record property price. As a first time property seller (second time lister), my gut and business background told me that marketing a property properly is key. I knew Markus would be perfect for that job. As I was traveling a lot (in the process of moving out of state), he really helped coordinate everything to make sure my property looked its finest for the first broker’s showing. He took a bunch of fine photographs, created a website, and my place looked completely turnkey when he was done he was able to draw in a big crowd (in fact, my wife wanted to move back after she saw the pictures). He had done a great job of cultivating interest in the property, and managed to cultivate multiple offers. A multiple offer situation can be more tricky than you might think (although it is not a bad situation to be in), you have to weigh the likelihood of a buyer to close the deal with the relative price of the offers. After a careful selection and negotiation process, we entered into escrow. Being a first-time seller, I was naive to think we were done. Markus, and truly a credit to the skillful team he surrounds himself with, helped extensively in keeping escrow in motion. In spite of uncooperative external factors, they managed to keep everything together, and keep me updated every step of the way. I felt completely at ease with them on my side. Just “in-case” Markus cultivated multiple backup offers as well. Markus is really smart, and he has the ability to explain things in an easy to understand way. He receives my highest recommendation.

10/01/2012 – user3159480
Sold a Single Family home in 2010 in Los Angeles, CA.

Having been involved in real estate investments for over 15 years, it’s now impossible to imagine buying and/or selling residential real estate without St. James+Canter representing me. I’ve worked with Cristie & Markus on several real estate deals over the last decade. Their efforts and results are unmatched by any other Realtor I’ve worked with. Cristie & Markus work tirelessly. They have a very positive “can do” attitude, they are honest and have a great reputation in the real estate business, both with peers and clients alike. My most recent transaction was on the selling end in this current economic climate and I have never seen anyone go to the great lengths it now takes to sell a high end house in this market. From the moment I listed with them until the day it sold, they had an open house every Sunday, they developed a great web site just for my house, had an amazing photographer capturing unbelievable photos of the house, had lots of advertising with photos in the LA Times, The MLS magazine and other print and online venues. Markus even did a video with a walk through narration of my house. Needless to say, Cristie & Markus sold my house, when many other realtors would have just given up. Words cannot express my gratitude and admiration for Cristie & Markus. I cannot wait to work with them again!! -Gina G. Goff

09/21/2012 – user8887023
Sold a Single Family home in 2008 in Sherman Oaks, CA.

My opinion of working with realtors was forever altered (in a very good way) after Markus Canter and Cristie St. James, of St. James + Canter, sold my home. My previous realtor experiences, regarding my personal residences, were mostly unpleasant and negative. Changing that perception was a major factor in who I chose to work with this time. The house I needed to sell was very unique and challenging; from the geographical hillside layout, to the difficult market of potential San Fernando Valley buyers. From our first meeting, Markus and Cristie were not only extremely enthusiastic but also very pragmatic. They concentrated on the positives of the property and addressed those areas that a buyer would be concerned with. They either helped to correct those concerns or he found a way to disarm them. They immediately went to work on how best to present my home as if it were their own. The sales process was long and difficult. We had numerous showings and multiple offers. It was a distressing and changing time in the Southern California real estate market and many potential buyers were skittish. Markus and Cristie were undeterred and extremely optimistic. As with any personal transaction, we had many discussions expressing frustration and concern. Through it all Markus and Cristie maintained a professional and, most importantly, an upbeat and enthusiastic demeanor. After 5 months my house was sold for a very acceptable price. They were undeterred and relentlessly optimistic throughout. To me the true test of a successful business transaction is if you would ever partner with those individuals on another opportunity. Would I chose or refer St. James + Canter for a future real estate transaction? I’d be a fool not to.

09/21/2012 – user8652155
Sold a luxury home in 2010 in Manhattan Beach, CA 90266.

My first encounter with St. James + Canter was as a buyer of one of their listings. After our first meeting, I felt comfortable emailing them directly with questions about the property (vs. my own agent). They always made themselves available to me so they could answer my every question. I honestly ended up talking to them more than the agent who represented me. I was so impressed with their work ethic and commitment to their careers that I hired Cristie and Markus in 2010 to sell one of my properties. I told Cristie and Markus that I was only willing to sell if got my minimum asking price. Undeterred, they quickly got the process started by putting together an impressive marketing campaign. The property sold in less than one month and I had my asking price. Cristie and Markus then represented me on a purchase for another listing that closed a few weeks later. In my opinion, many real estate agents do not take the time to get to know their client or put in the work to really earn their commission. Markus and Cristie are not like those agents – they take pride in what they do and I could not see myself ever hiring another broker to help me buy or sell a property.